Travels & Ideas

I have been absent for over a week and I apologize for the delay. I do try to give you something new every day or at least every other day if I can.  Here is a brief update of where I’ve been, and some of what you may be seeing soon!

I just returned home from visiting family about 6 hours south of where I live. I return to school tomorrow for the second semester of the year, and hopefully will be applying for scholarship opportunities to take me into university studies next year (let’s pray that works out so that i can start to learn how to help people through the pursuit of psychology.)

While I was gone, I did not do any writing, but what I did do was string together a couple ideas for short stories, a new book idea, and I am developing a brand new character that hopefully I can introduce soon! This character will be more closely explored in those other ideas I’ve had, and I am also going to be trying to challenge myself to shift off from horror. Let’s see how this goes, shall we?

On another side of this, I was asked by a good friend for advice in how to get into writing (writing in your own voice, writing in an essay voice, and creative writing) and I was originally going to make something distinctly personal for this friend (which I may still do), but I have also decided that I want to help my readers who could be writers or want to be writers as well.

Therefore, look forward to some of this advice in the coming days if you are interested! They will show up inside this ‘Talking with Del’ category. Now, I know that what works for me may not work for everyone as creativity is distinctly personal, so as I move to give these tips, just be aware that you may have to tweak them or experiment outside of them in order to find what works best for you.

Thank you for your patience, and as always, feel free to respond either to this post or send me a comment and tell me your thoughts, requests, questions, or concerns!

Leave a Reply

